Horoscope Explorer

Shadbala Measures Planetary Strength

A native gets auspicious results due to the presence of strong planets in the birth-chart. The strength of planets is measured by the method of Shadbala.

The strength of planets can be identified by the placement of planet in the respective house. Another factor to be noticed is that the planet should not be declined or debilitated in the respective Moon-sign. Astrologers find Shadbala the best methodology to measure the strength of any planet. There are six types of Shadbala and all these types are considered to measure the strength of any planet.

Significance of Shadbala
The Shadbala method can not be ignored in astrology. Shadbala can give the idea about which planet is causing any particular result while placed in a particular house. It also marks the auspicious planets and their impact.

The knowledge about the strength of the house-lord is also considered to make predictions from the birth-chart. The placement of house-lord is taken into consideration to made astrological predictions and if the house-lord is at a weaker position, then the native will get inauspicious results. Shadbala also predicts about the auspicious direction for the native. 'Dil Bala' is one of the six parts of Shadbala method which determines the auspicious direction.

Calculation of Planet strength
Shadbala has six parts and these parts are further divided into sub-parts. The strength of planets is measured through mathematical calculations and these balas are added to get the sum total of various roopas and viroopas. There are 60 viroopas in each roopa. According to many sources, the strength should be measured between 0 to 60 virupas, but for Drekkana Bala, the maximum strength obtainable is 30 virupas.

Components of Shadbala
Basically there are six types of Shadbalas and these Shadbalas are further divided in sub-balas. Let us have a look.

1.Sthan Bala:

  • Saptavarga Bala
  • Uccha Bala
  • Din-Ratri Bala
  • Kendradi Bala
  • Dreshkon Bala

2. Dil Bala

3. Kal Bala

  • Natonnat Bala
  • Paksh Bala
  • Tri-bhag Blaa
  • Varsh-Mas-Din-Hora Bala
  • Yuddha Bala
  • Aayan Bala

4. Cheshta Bala

5.  Naisargik Bala

6. Drig Bala