Funeral Sanskar is the Final Vedic Sanskar in a Person’s Life

16 Vedic Sanskars are like Chakra that go on and on with time. It begins with a child’s origin inside a mother’s womb, continues throughout life after his or her birth and ends with his/her death.

In Sanskrit, we also call it Antyeshti. This ritual is intended to lead the soul towards God or self. If the soul has realized the true nature of reality, it may become the Brahman.

Our religious texts say that the soul is immortal and travels from one body to another until it finds its ultimate place in the Almighty. In Hinduism funeral of a person is a ritual where prayers are offered for the sake of the dead person’s union with God.

According to Vedic astrology, the human body is made up of 5 prime elements namely, earth, water, sky, air, and fire. After a native’s funeral, these 5 elements go back into their place and the soul finds a new form but it doesn’t get salvation. So philosophically nothing is being created nor can it be destroyed.

Elements get into its original form and soul gets a new body till it becomes one with the Brahman. The Vedic astrology speaks of 2 types of funeral Sanskars. These are:

  1. Presence of dead body.

  2. Absence of dead body.

A dead body does not require Muhurat

According to the Shashtras, a funeral rite doesn’t require any Muhurat if the dead body is present. The family is the most important part of the sacred funeral rites. The last rites are done by doing Puja by a priest or family member and the body is burnt to ashes. The last rites are generally performed by the eldest child of the deceased. On the fourth day the remains of bones and ashes are collected by the family members and after doing Puja are immersed in the Ganges or the nearby river.

Astrology says that Panchak Yoga is formed when Moon is on Aquarius or Pisces sign. If a person dies in this Yoga then he or she is afflicted with Panchak Dosha. As a solution, the Panchak Dosha is pacified by making 5 dummy bodies and performing the Sanskar at a time with the dead body. By doing this the Panchak Dosha comes to an end. The mourning period ranges from ten to thirty days.

When dead body is not present

When the dead body is not present then a dummy body of the dead person is made by Kush, Palash and rice flour. Then the funeral Sanskar of this dummy body is performed. Astrology says that for this Sanskar, Muhurat is required.

Consideration of the Nakshatra

While performing the symbolic funeral of a dead person, astrologers consider Muhurat. The placement of Nakshatras is very important in the Muhurat of this Sanskar. Shravan, Hasta, Swati, Ashwini, and Pushya are good Nakshatras.

Other normal Nakshatras for this Sanskars are Uttraphalguni, Uttrasadha, Uttara Bhadrapada, Rohini, Anuradha, Purvaphalguni, Punarvasu, Vishakha, Mrigashira, Chitra and Dhanistha.

Consideration of weekday

According to Vedic astrological principles, the symbolic funeral of a person is good on Sundays, Mondays, and Thursdays.

Astrological restrictions

As per astrological beliefs, the combust period of Sun and Jupiter are not auspicious for funeral Sanskar. Except for the days and Nakshatras mentioned above, the rest of them should be avoided. Bhadra Dosha is malefic for this Sanskar. With the funeral Sanskar, the 16 Vedic Sanskars come to an end.