Navratri - Worshipping Different Forms of Mata on Different Days

nine_avatar India is a land of Festivals. Fasts and festivals are of great importance here. All these fasts and festivals are celebrated in all over India with great zeal and faith. Among all the fasts and festivals, Sharda Navratra fast holds a place of great importance. Shardiye Navratra is of religious, spiritual, moral and universal importance. The devotees worship the nine forms of Mata and thus is known as Navratra. The details of the nine forms of Mata are given here:

Pratipada Date Kalash sthapana Diwas

In 2021 , Shardiya Navratra is beginning on, Pratipada of Ashwin Shukla Paksha. On the first day of Navratra, fast is observed and Kalash is established. According to the scriptures, establishing Kalash maintains the auspiciousness of the period during the fast. Kalash is said to be a form of Lord Ganesha. As Ganesha is worshipped first of all the Gods, the Kalash is established before beginning the fast. 7th october morning 6:17 am to 07:07 am is the best time for kalash sthapna of shardiya navratri. For Ghat Sthapna Abhijit muhurat time from 11:45 a.m to 12:32 pm is the best.

Kalash Sthapana Vidhi | Kalash Establishing Method

On Pratipada date, the place is purified by spraying Ganga Jal and then the Kalash is established. Cow dung may also be used for purification. Sand of seven colours are mixed and a Peeth is prepared at the purified place on which the Kalash is established. In this Pooja, all the nine planets, Gods and Yoginis are invited and offered to sit in the Kalash. Seven types of sands, betel-nut and coins are kept and then it is decorated with five types of leaves. Seven types of Barleys and grains are sown below the Kalash which are harvested on Dashmi date. In this Navratri, all the Gods and Goddesses are worshipped for nine days. The idol of Goddess Durga is established in the middle of the place of worship. On the right side, the idol of Shri Ganesh and Mahalakshami is kept and on the left the idol of Kartikeya and Goddess Saraswati is kept and worshipped.

In this way the Kalash Sthapana work on Pratipada date gets completed.

Dwitiya Date - Worshiping Brahmacharini Form of Mother

On Dwitiya date, the Brahmacharini Form of Mother is worshipped. The look of Mata Brahmacharini emblematizes her ascetic look. According to a belief, Goddess Durga resides on earth during Navratri for nine days. Tantric meditation during these days are considered most favourable. On this day, Hibiscus and Lotus flowers are used to garland Mata Brahmacharini as Mata likes this two flowers very much.

Tritiya Date - Worshiping of Chandraghanta Form of Mother

On the third day of Durga Puja, the third form, Chandraghanta, of Mata is worshipped. Devi Chandraghanta removes all the problems and hurdles of life. Devi Chandraghanta is called the Goddess of spiritual and internal power. Person worshiping Mata Chandraghanta with faith and devotion gets the blessings of the mother.

The environment of the place where Mata Chandraghanta is worshipped gets purified and all the problems are removed from there.

Chaturthi Date - Kushmanda Form of Mother

Goddess Kushmanda is the fourth form of Mother. This form of Mata is worshipped on the fourth date of Ashwin month. Goddess Kushmanda is having eight hands and is also called Ashtabhuja Devi. Mata Kushmanda holds a garland of Lotus seeds in her eighth hand. This flower is said to bring all types of accomplishments to the devotees. Worshipping this Goddess with full faith and devotion removes all the problems, diseases and pains of life.

Panchami Tithi - Goddess Skand Form of Mother

On this day, Mata Skand, the mother of Kumar Kartikeya is worshipped. Kumar Kartikeya is also known by the name of Skand Kumar. Person worshipping this form of mother gets the motherly affection of Mata Skand. The blessings of Devi fulfills the wishes of the devotees and brings peace and prosperity at home.

Shashthi Tithi - Katyayani Form of Mother

The sixth form of mother is known by the name of Mata Katyayani. Due to her birth at the house of sage Katyayan, her name become Katyayani. Mata Katyayani killed Mahishashur in the guise of Devi Amba. She is worshipped on the sixth day of Navratra. By worshipping her, the devotees attains salvation.

Worshipping Goddess selflessly makes the person strong and gets victory over his enemies. Maa Katyayani is worshipped in Godhuli Bela.

Saptami Date - Worshipping Mata Kaalratri

On Saptami date, the seventh form, Maa Kaalratri, of Mata is worshipped. This form of Mata blesses with Riddhi Siddhi. This is called auspicious for persons doing Tantric meditations. Saptami Tithi is holds a place of great importance in Durga Puja. From this day onwards, the gates of Maa Durga are opened for public view and the devotees gather in large to take her view and worship.

Ashtami Tithi - Mahagauri Worship

Mahagauri is the eighth form of Gooddess Durga. According to a belief, after getting defeated from Shumbh-Nishumbh, the Gods were worshipping Mata Mahagauri on the Bank of river Ganga to save them from the demons. After this worship, Maa Mahagauri appeared and saved them. There is also a belief that if a woman worship Mata Mahagauri then her husband lives long and if any unmarried girl worships then she gets an eligible groom. In addition, it keeps the life of all the people, who worship her, happy. Mata Mahagauri blesses her devotees with undisintegratable glee and power.

Navami Date - Goddess Siddhidatri

Goddess appeared in nine forms to bless her devotees. In all these, Mata Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Mata. This Goddess blesses her devotees with all the Riddhi-Siddhis of the world. The nine forms of Mata are worshipped not only by the humans but also the Gods, sages, demons and Naag(Cobra snake). Mata Siddhidatri is said to be the remover of all the diseases, vexations, and planetary position problems.