How to Read a Kundali - Introduction to Janma Kundali

You must have heard about a Janma Kundali atleast once in your life. Janma Kundali or Janma Patri is able to predict incidents in your life. It explains certain aspects of your life, including auspicious and inauspicious time frames. In this webcast, we will talk about certain aspects of a Janma Kundali. Basically, we will tell you how it is created and read.

Janma Kundali Introduction

In order to read a Kundali accurately, you need to consider some important things. Let us first discuss these things. At the time of your birth, a Kundali is a precise map of the sky.

A Janma Kundali explains the position of planets and their movement at a particular time. Every Janma Kundali is divided into 12 different sections. These sections are called houses.

Janma Kundali is created differently in different places. For instance, Indian method and Western method. In Indian method, kundalis are created differently in Northern Vedic astrology, Southern Vedic astrology and Eastern Vedic astrology.

In order to create a Janma Kundali, 12 astrological signs are studied. Every sign from Aries to Pisces needs to be studied properly. These astrological signs are present in 12 different houses. Each house consists of one astrological sign. At the time of your birth, the sign rising in the zodiac will be in your Kundali’s first house.

Other signs will be ranked accordingly in an anti-clockwise direction. For instance, if Gemini is in the first house, the second house will consist of Cancer and so on. Taurus will be in the last house of this Kundali.

Introduction to Houses

In this slide, we will talk about houses in a Kundali. There are 12 houses in a Janma Kundali. Each house consists of one astrological sign.

Every house in your Kundali is associated with a certain aspect of your life. These houses have been named as per their work in Shastras. The first house is called Tan, second Dhan, Third Sahodar, fourth Matra, fifth Putra, sixth Ari, seventh Ripu, eighth Ayu, ninth Dharma, tenth Karma, eleventh Aye and twelfth Vyaya.

Some houses in your Kundali are considered to be auspicious, while others are considered to be inauspicious.

The lord of the sign located in the house also becomes the house-lord of that house. Every house consists of a different astrological sign. However, the Karak element of every house is pre-determined.

If the Lord of an inauspicious house in your Kundali forms a relation with an auspicious house, it is considered to be inauspicious. On the other hand, it is considered to be auspicious if the Lord of an auspicious house forms a relation with another auspicious house.

When the Lord of a house enters a house preceding it, this movement is considered to be inauspicious. Contrary to this, it is auspicious if the Lord of a house enters a house succeeding it.

Position of Planets

Position of planets is extremely important in a Kundali. It is very important to study the position of planets in your Kundali. It is not possible to make predictions without analysing the position of planets.

First of all, you need to check which planets are in which signs. Then, you need to check a planet’s behavior towards a sign in which it is present.

It is also important to check if the planet is in a friendly or enemy sign. This is one of the most important aspects of studying the position of planets.

You also need to check if a planet is exalted, debilitated, in Mooltrikona sign or in its own sign. It is also important to analyse a planet’s relationship with other planets.

You need to check if these relationships are auspicious or not. Yogas related to a planet also need to be studied. For instance, Raj Yoga, Dhan Yoga, Arishta Yoga and so on.

Predictions through a Kundali

Now, let us talk about making predictions through a Kundali. You should try to make predictions when you have thoroughly analysed houses and planets in your Kundali. First of all, you should study the 12 houses to gather information about their ability to give results.

You should check if a planet would give auspicious or inauspicious results. You should also gather information about the time frame in which you will receive these results. It is important to analyse houses, Lords of houses and Karak elements in your Kundali.

If these three are strong, you will receive auspicious results in life. But if only two of these are strong, auspicious results will be minimized. On the other hand, results will be inauspicious if all these are weak.

Analysis of Dashas

Besides all the important things discussed until now, it is also important to analyse Dashas in your Kundali. Let us now discuss Dashas in your Kundali. First of all, you need to check the planet whose dasha is active in your Kundali and Yogas related to this planet. You also need to study the position of a planet whose dasha is active and the house it rules.

The next step is to analyse the relationship between Mahadasha Nath and Antardasha Nath. You should check if they are friendly towards each other or not.

You also need to check the position of Antardasha Nath from Mahadasha Nath. It is important to check the number of houses between both of them. It is also crucial to understand if Mahadasha Nath is strong or weak.

You need to study Mahadasha Nath in both Janma Kundali and Navansh Kundali. You should make sure that Mahadasha Nath is not strong in one Kundali and weak in another.

Analysis of Transits

Before we conclude, let us talk about transits of planets. Besides an analysis of Dashas, it is also important to study transits of planets.

You will receive auspicious results if both Dashas and transits are auspicious in your Kundali. Transit of Saturn and Jupiter is extremely important for the occurrence of important incidents in your life.

In the absence of Dashas, transits are unable to give auspicious results. A transit is unable to give any results without the presence of a Dasha.