Exaltation and Debilitation of planet-I

The Nine planets in Indian Astrology are considered as affecting terrestrial phenomena. The Zodiac is a circle of light and consequently no beginning or end.

These 9 planets  and the 12 Zodiac signs are co-related with each other in 3 ways Friendly way, Inimical way, Neutral way.

Every planet has some specific characteristics and hence on the basis of their characteristics the Exaltation, debilitation for each planet is categorized.

The  7th rashi or sign will be exalted  or debilitated for each planet. The difference of 180 degrees gives the exaltation and debilitation. Since each planet covers 30 degrees. the difference between exaltation sign and debilitation sign is 6 for example the Sun is exalted in Aries so the sign of debilitation will be the 7th (30degrees X 6).

The Sun: The Sun is the parent body of the Solar system. He has no latitude being always in the ecliptic and is never in the inferior state. He cooperates with all the planets sympathetically except Saturn. He is temperately hot and masculine. He can be good or bad depending on the planet in configuration with him.

Being the king of the planets. He is placed as no. 1. Also,  the Sun  is considered as  Atmakaraka. Since Atman is one in every body hence the Sun is Exalted in the 1sr Zodiac sign i.e. Aries. The Sun is exalted in Aries in 19 degrees. Adding 6 signs to the exalted sign gives the sign of debilitation. hence the 7th sign i.e. Libra is the sign of debilitation of the Sun.

The Moon: The Moon expresses the personality of the individual. It is a feminine planet and rules over Cancer. It is cold, moist, watery, phlegmatic and nocturnal planet.

It is the Queen of all the planets. It rules the mind. Since there are 2 minds i.e. conscious mind and sub conscious mind. hence the zodiac sign 2nd i.e. Taurus  is the sign of exaltation of the Moon.The Moon is Exalted upto 4 degrees in Taurus. Adding 6 signs to it gives the sign of debilitation. Hence Scorpio is the sign of debilitation of the Moon.

Mars: Mars is hot. dry, fiery, violent planet also known as “Bloody planet”. Mars rules over the zodiac sign Aries and Scorpio.

Since Mars represents the energy and senses of the body . There are in all 10 senses  5 Karma Senses and 5 Gyan Senses(energy centres of the body). Hence, Mars is exalted in the 10th sign i.e.Capricorn upto 28 degrees. Adding 6 more signs is Cancer. So Mars is debilitated in the Cancer upto 28 degrees..

Mercury :Mercury is the chief ruler of nerve forces and mental faculties of the mind. He is always close to the the Sun. He is never farther than 28 degrees. He takes the qulaity of the planet with which he is configured. Depending on the planet or the sign in which it is placed he is friendly, unfriendly, benefic or evil. Mercury rules over Gemini and Virgo.

Mercury is a sexless planet . They are of 6 types  i.e. Hugyoni, Nasayoni, Mukhyoni, Twakyoni, Shabdyoni, and Kumbhakyoni. Hence, Mercury is exalted in the 6th sign i.e. Virgo. Adding 6  to the exalted sign gives the sign of debilitation. hence Mercury is debilitated in 12th sign i.e. Pisces.



Comment(s): (2)

    when will my son get job?
    By vslakshmi | Published 19 May, 2013 13:45:21 PM Reply
    In the above, it states that "The Sun is exalted in Aries in 19 degrees." Can I assume that the sun's degrees from 0 to 19 are exalted? Also, some degrees mentioning "upto ... degrees". What does it mean in terms of the marginal degree exlatation/debelitation?
    By Jane | Published 02 October, 2013 07:20:00 AM Reply

Leave a comment

(Will not be show)