Navratri Puja Vidhi - Navratri Puja

“Navratri” as the name suggests is a festival of nine days and nine nights. During this period, the nine manifestations of Goddesses Durga are worshipped each day. These nine forms of the goddess is also known by the name of “Navdurga”. The nine forms of goddess Durga worshipped during Navratri are: Shailputri on Pratipada; Brahmacharini on Dwitiya; Chandarghanta on Tritiya; Kushmanda on Chaturthi; Skand Mata on Panchami; Katyayani on Shashthi; Kaalratri on Saptami; Mahagauri on Ashtami and Siddhidatri on Navami.

After observing fast for nine days during Navratri, it is ended on Navami Tithi of Ashwin Shukla Paksha. All the major fasts and festivals of Hindus commence from this day onwards. During the nine days of Navratra, different prayers are offered everyday to the nine Goddesses. Here we have presented the rituals to worship all the nine goddess on each day of the Navratri.

First Day Of Navratri : Pratipada Date

On the first day of Navratri, fast is observed and Kalash is established as it is considered to be an auspicious part of every worshipping in HIndu culture. Kalash is said to be a form of Lord Ganesha. As Ganesha is worshipped first of all the Gods, the Kalash is established before beginning the fast.

On Pratipada date, the place is purified by spraying ganga jal and cow dung and then the Kalash is established. Sand of seven colours are mixed and a raised platform is prepared at the purified place on which the Kalash is established. In this Pooja, all the nine planets, Gods and Yoginis are invited and offered to sit in the Kalash. Then, seven different types of grains are sown below the Kalash which are harvested on the tenth date of the Navratri during conclusion. The idol of Goddess Durga is established in the middle of the place of worship. On the right side, the idol of Shri Ganesh and Mahalakshami is kept and on the left the idol of Kartikeya and Goddess Saraswati is kept and worshipped.

Second Day Of Navratri - Worshiping Brahmacharini

On Dwitiya date, the second manifestation of goddess Durga, Brahmacharini is worshipped. Take one flower in your hands while worshipping the goddess and chant, “Dadhana Kar padmabhyamakshamalakamandalu, Devi Praseedatu Mayi Brahmacharinyanuttama”. On this day, Hibiscus and Lotus flowers are used to garland Mata Brahmacharini as the goddess i fond of these two flowers. Lord Shiva is also worshipped along with her as Brahmacharini performed hard penance to get him in the form of husband. Ma Brahmacharini does not fulfill any desire of the devotee without praying for Lord Shiva along with her.

Third Day Of Navratri - Worshiping of Chandraghanta

On the third day, the third manifestation of goddess Durga Chandraghanta is worshipped. It is believed that goddess Chandraghanta removes all the problems and hurdles of life. irst of all, worship all the gods, goddesses, planets, lord of the villages in the Kalash. Then, worship the family members of the goddess which are Ganesha, Lakshmi, Vijya, Kartikey, Saraswati, Jaya etc and at last worship Devi Chandraghanta followed by praying Lord Shiva and Brahmaji.

Fourth Day Of Navratri  - Worshipping of Kushmanda

Goddess Kushmanda is the fourth manifestation of goddess Durga. This form of the goddess is worshipped on the fourth date of Ashwin month. Worshipping this Goddess with full faith and devotion removes all the problems, diseases and pains of life. You start with the worship of Kalasha on this day with all the gods and goddesses and the family members of the goddess invited into it. Then worship Devi Kushmanda by keeping flowers in your hands to offer her and chant,  “ Surasampurnakalasham Rudhiraplutmeva Cha | Dadhana Hastpadhyabhayam Kushmanda Shubhdastu Me ”.

Fifth Day Of Navratri - Worshipping of Skand

Goddess Skand, the fourth manifestation of goddess Durga and the mother of Kumar Kartikeya is worshipped on this day. Person worshipping this form of mother gets the motherly affection of Mata Skand. The blessings of Devi fulfills the wishes of the devotees and brings peace and prosperity at home. Worship the goddess according to the Panchopkar ritual. Lord Shiva and Brahmaji are worshipped in the end of the Puja according to the rituals mentioned in the Shastras. Some people observe the fast of Udyang Lalita on the fifth day of the Navratra. This fast is considered to be very fruitful. Devotees who worship Devi Skandmata with full devotion and attention gets blessings from her and their all his wishes are fulfilled.

Sixth  Day Of Navratri - Worshipping Katyayani

The sixth form of the goddess is known by the name of Katyayani. Since she was born to sage Katyana, her name became Katyayani. By worshipping her, the devotees attains salvation.Worshipping Goddess selflessly makes the person strong and gets victory over his enemies. Maa Katyayani is worshipped in Godhuli Bela. Worship the Kalash on the sixth day and all the gods residing inside it followed by worshipping the family of the goddess seated on the both sides of her. Goddess Katyayani is worshipped in the end with flowers and mantras. Lord Shiva and Brahma should also be worshipped after worshipping the goddess. Lord Shiva is worshipped along with goddess Lakshmi.

Seventh Day Of Navratri  - Worshipping Kaalratri

On Saptami date, the seventh form goddess Durga, Kaalratri is worshipped. This form of Mata blesses the devotees with Riddhi Siddhi. This is called auspicious for persons doing Tantric meditations. According to the rituals mentioned in the scriptures, first of all the Kalasha is worshipped along with all the planets and family members of the goddess. After that one should worship the goddess Kalratri by chanting, “Devya Yaya Tatmind Jagdatmashakta, Nisheshdevganshaktisamuhmurtya, Tambikamkhiledvahamarishipujya, Bhakta Natah Sma Vidadhatu Shubhani Sa nam”. Lord Shiva and Brahma are also worshipped after worshipping the goddess.

Eighth Day Of Navratri  - Worshipping Mahagauri

Mahagauri is the eighth form of Gooddess Durga. It is believed that goddess Mahagauri blesses her devotees with disintegratable glee and power. One should feed unmarried girls on all the days of the Navratra, but Ashtami has its own significance to do so.  On this day the females offer a red coloured stole and perform puja with the same rituals as performed till saptami. While worshipping the goddess Mahagauri chant the given mantra, “ Sidhgandharvashadheyarsureyarameyarapi | Sevyamana Sada Bhuyat Sidhidi Siddhidayini || ”.

Ninth Day Of Navratri- Worshipping Siddhidatri

Goddess appeared in nine forms to bless her devotees. Goddess Siddhidatri is the ninth manifestation of goddess Durga. This Goddess blesses her devotees with all the Riddhi-Siddhis of the world.  All the shlokas of Durgasapshati can be treated as mantras while giving the ahuti to all the gods and goddesses. Recite the beej mantra of devi 108 times as given below while giving the Ahuti to the goddess, “ Om Hrim Kalin Chamundaya Viche Namoh Namah”.  In the end, Lord Shiva and Brahmaji should also worshipped. Distribute the prasada among the devotees and cool down the sacred fire with holy water. The ashes so obtained will help to keep away the evil and wave off the fear.