Dasha Systems in Vedic Astrology

A planetary period is known as Dasha in Vedic astrology. Prediction about any event in an astrology is done by looking at either transits of planets (gochara) or by referring to a Dasha period. The strong planets in a given horoscope will give auspicious results during the Dashas of such planets.

There are various Dasha systems used in Indian astrology like Vimshottari, Sodashottari, Dwadashattari etc. The Vimshottari Dasha system is considered most important among all these Dasha systems. The word Vimshottari means 120. This Dasha system is known as Vimshottari Dasha because the period of effects of Dasha of various planets adds up to 120. Dasha periods are always calculated according to the position of Moon in the chart. Janma Nakshatra also play an important role in calculating the beginning Dasha period in the chart, which is determined by the lord of Nakshatra in which Moon falls in at the time of birth.

Vimshottari Dasha

Vimshottari Dasha was advocated by the great astrologer, sage parashara and was widely followed in India for making astrological predictions. This system considers the total lifespan of human beings to be 120 years and allocates different amount of years for the nine planets.

The Dasha period of the nine planets according to Vimshottari Dasha is as follows:

Sun - 6 years

Moon - 10 years

Mars - 7 years

Rahu - 18 years

Jupiter - 16 years

Saturn - 19 years

Mercury - 17 years

Ketu - 7 years

Venus - 20 years

The main Dasha period is called the Mahadasha. This period is further divided into sub-periods known as Antardasha and further into sub-periods known as Pratyantar Dasha, Sukshama Dasha and finally the Prana Dasha.

How the Dasha of a planet is calculated?

The Vimshottari Dasha is based on the longitude of Moon at the time of birth and the Nakshatra in which Moon is present at the time of birth. According to Vedic Astrology, there are 27 Nakshatras ranging from Ashwini to Revati. Each Nakshatra is ruled by one of the nine planets. The starting Dasha is of the ruler of birth Nakshatra. For example, if a child born in 'Krittika' Nakshatra the first Dasha will be of Sun.

Results from various planets are obtained by looking at their natural or acquired traits in the chart. Planets give good results in their own or friendly house or Navamansha. Planets which have Shadbala, are in Vargottama or in a square or a Trine house from Lagna also give auspicious results. Planets involved in the formation of various Yogas give results according to the Yoga. Debilitated planets, planets in enemy signs, naturally cruel planets give inauspicious results during their Dasha periods. Hence, all the planets do not give good results towards the end of their Dasha periods.

Mercury and Vedic Astrology


Comment(s): 0:

Leave a comment

(Will not be shown)