Niryan Sankranti 2020 | Niryan Hindu Calendar

What is the Sankranti?

According to Vedic astrology, the time when the Sun transits from one sign to another is known as Sankranti. The movement of the Sun from one sign to another is called Sankraman Kaal and is known as Sankranti.

How many types of Sankranti are there?

There are a total of 12 astrological signs in the zodiac. This is also the reason for twelve types of Surya Sankrantis. The saints have categorized these 12 Sankranti in different parts: Ayani Sankranti, Vishuvi Sankranti, Shadshitimukhi Sankranti and Vishnupadi Sankranti.

Formation of various types of Sankranti

Ayani Sankranti: The transit of Sun from Gemini to Cancer and from Sagittarius to Capricorn. Vishuvi Sankranti: The transit of Sun into Aries and Libra.

Shadshitimukhi Sankranti: The transit of Sun into Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. Vishnupadi Sankranti: The transit of Sun into Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius.

Uttarayan and Dakshiyanan

From an astrological and auspicious point of perspective Uttarayan is considered to be a very good time. The days start getting longer with the commencement of Uttarayan. This phenomenon occurs until it reaches the highest point. After that Dakshinayan sets in. The days start getting shorter with the commencement of Dakshinayan. This phenomenon occurs until it reaches a minimum point during Dakshinayan. This is the reason why Uttarayan has been considered to be more important than Dakshinayan.

According to the related calculations, in modern times, Uttarayan begins from 22nd December, while Dakshinayan begins from 22nd June. Donations, charities etc. have been considered to be important at the time of Sankranti. Makar Sankranti is considered to be the most important of all.

Niryan Sankranti Beginning time 2020

Sankranti Name Date and Day Beginning Time Auspicious Time
Magh Sankranti 14 January, Tuesday 26:07 Hours till 08:30 morning, next day
Falgun Sankranti 13 February, Thursday 15:03 Hours/td> Whole day after 08:39
Chaitra Sankranti 14 March, Saturday 11:53 Hours Whole day after sunrise
Vaishakh Sankranti 13 April, Monday 14:08 Hours Afternoon 13:59
Jyeshtha Sankranti 14 May, Thursday 17:16 Hours After morning 10:52
Ashaadh Sankranti 14 June, Sunday 23:53 Hours Till 06:17 morning, next day
Shravan Sankranti 16 July, Thursday 10:46 Hours Sunrise to Till 17:10
Bhadrapad Sankranti 16 August, Sunday 19:10 Hours Afternoon 13:59
Ashwin Sankranti 16 September, Wednesday 19:07 Hours Afternoon 12:43
Kartik Sankranti 17 October, Saturday 07:05 Hours Till Afternoon 13:29
Margshirsha Sankranti 15 November, Sunday 30:53 Hours Till 13:17 Afternoon, next day
Paush Sankranti 15 December, Tuesday 21:31 Hours after 12:00 pm

View More Articles