Ekadashi Fasts Dates 2020 | Ekadashi Vrat Dates 2020

Ekadashi holds great importance in hindu mythology. On this day, lord Vishnu is worshipped and a fast is observed. Things like non-veg, alcohol, onion, garlic, masoor dal are avoided on this day. In total, 24 ekadashis are observed in a year. If there is adhik maas or mal mass in a year, then there are 26 ekadashis in a year. The person who observes fast on ekadashi receives divine results.

Types of Ekadashis

About Ekadashi, it is said that it is of two types - vidya ekadashi and shuddha ekadashi. Ekadashi that falls on dashami is said as vidya ekadashi. If during sunrise, kalik ekadashi tithi consists of dwadashi tithi, then it is called as shuddha ekadashi. For common household people and seekers, observing shuddha ekadashi fast is considered auspicious and virtuous.

Dates of Ekadashi Fast in 2020


Name of Ekadashi Month Date
Putrada Ekadashi Posh Shukla Paksha 6 January, Monday
Shattila Ekadashi Magha Krishna Paksha 20 January, Monday
Jaya Ekadashi Magha Shukla Paksha 5 February, Wednesday
Vijaya Ekadashi (Vaishnav) Falgun Krishna Paksha 19 February, Wednesday
Amalaki Ekadashi Falgun Shukla Paksha 6 March, Friday
Paapmochini Ekadashi Chaitra Krishna Paksha 20 March, Friday
Kamada Ekadashi Chaitra Shukla Paksha 4 April, Saturday
Varuthini Ekadashi Vaishakh Krishna Paksha 18 April, Saturday
Mohini Ekadashi Vaishakh Shukla Paksha 4 May, Monday
Apara Ekadashi Jyeshtha Krishna Paksha 18 May, Monday
Nirjala Ekadashi Jyeshtha Shukla Paksha 2 June, Tuesday
Yogini Ekadashi Ashadha Krishna Paksha 17 June, Wednesday
Devshayani (Harishayan) Ekadashi Ashadha Shukla Paksha 1 July, Wednesday
Kamika Ekadashi Shravan Krishna Paksha 16 July, Thursday
Pavitra Ekadashi Shravan Shukla Paksha 30 July, Thursday
Aja Ekadashi Bhadra Krishna Paksha 15 August, Saturday
Padma Ekadashi Bhadrapad Krishan Paksha 29 August, Saturday
Indira Ekadashi (Shuddh) Ashwin Krishna Paksha 13 September, Sunday
Purushottam Ekadashi (Adhik) Ashwin Shukla Paksha 27 September, Sunday
Purushottam Ekadashi (Adhik) Ashwin Krishna Paksha 13 October, Tuesday
Papankusha Ekadashi (Shuddh) Ashwin Shukla Paksha 27 October, Tuesday
Rama Ekadashi Kartik Krishna Paksha 11 November, Wednesday
Devprabodhini(Hariprabodhini) Ekadashi Kartik Shukla Paksha 26 November, Thursday
Utapanna Ekadashi Margshirsha Krishna Paksha December, Friday
Moksha Ekadashi Marshirsha Shukla Paksha 25 December, Friday


View More Articles