Indian Culture is the oldest culture of all and has proven to be most valuable in teachin humanity. It signifies the importance of values and principles of humanity much more than the worldly prosperity and sumptuousness. Our old saints, thinkers and philosophers believed that the main aim of life is not the worldly success rather the achievement of spiritual knowledge and realization of the supreme power. 

To achieve the inherent knowledge,  every Hindu has to go through various sanskaras right from the birth till the death. These sanskaras bind the human life to follow a system that keeps him away from unproductive pleasures and temporary ecstasy. All sanskaras have been scientifically proven and are executed with specific Mantras. All the 16 sanskaras are conducted at different stages of life. Each and every Sanskaras has its own importance. If done with rituals and purity of mind it brings lot of positive changes in life.

Garbhadhan Sanskara

This Sanskara is to get a meritorious and virtuaoso child birth. It is natural that after a coition a child birth takes place, but, to give birth to a virtuso child, one has to follow rituals. In this before conceiving a child Garbhadhan sanskara is done. before coition wife prays to her deity for the worthy  child. This is the 1st sanskara before child is conceived. 

Punsavan Sanskara

This Sanskara takes place after  3 months of the conception.This sanksakra is to get a worthy child as per the vision.  It is believed that after the completion of 3rd month the pregnant mother has to pray to god for continuous nine days morning and before sleeping to get a child as per her imagination.   


This Sanskara is done in the 4th , 6th or 8th month for the purity of the foetus. In the 4th month the child body starts taking shape and the child ‘s feeling starts developing.

Jaatkarma Sanskara

This Sankara takes place at the time of the birth of the child. This is a welcome note to the child who came into this world. During this Sanskara the father of the child gives honey to the new born child and prays for his long life and well being.

Naamkaran Sanskara 

This Sanskara is done after 10 days of the child birth. In this the child’s parents alongwith the child sight the Sun and a name is given to the child. Naamkaran is very important as in future this name will be giving him fame.

Nishkraman Sanskara

This sanskara is done after 4 month of the child’s birth.In this the child is taken out of the house to some temple. As per Atharved, It is believed that after 4 months the child’s senses are strong enough to bear the Sun, wind water etc.


This Sanskara is done between 6-8 months for the male child and between 5-7 months for female child.On this day the child is served with kheer in a silver spoon with Mantras for his health and happiness. The child starts developing at this age and digestive system is well prepared. 

Mundan Sanskara 

Mundan Sanskara is done for the child’s long life,cheerful and pretty looks.In this the child’s hair cut is done for the first time. This Sanskara is done after 1 year or 3 years of age. This sanskara is a devotion to the head as head is the supreme of the body.

Karna-vedh Sanskara 

This sanskara takes place in the odd years of the age i.e is in 3rd or 5th or 7th year. In this the piercing of ear is done. it may be either girl or a boy the piercing is done. the o\nly difference is that the girls left ear is pierced first and in case of boys right ear is pierced first. 

Vidyaarambh Sanskara

This Sanskara takes place in the 5th year of the child when he is mentally  prepared to go for education to school. On this occasion he is being taught the basic alphabets(Akshar Gyan) . The child worship Lord Ganesh and Goddess Saraswati to inspire him for enlightening education.

Upnayan Sanskara 

This Sankara has equal importance as that of the child birth. It is believed  that  after this Sanskara the child is dissociated with his past lives Karmas and is considered to be the second birth of the child.In this Sanskara,  9 threads are knotted together to form a Yagopaveet.  After this Sanskaras it is believed the child will be grasping all good virtues represented by 9 threads i.e. Brahma, intellect, Patience, Affection, Peace, Patronage, Equality, Cleanliness and Glory.

Vedaarambh Sanskara

After Upnayan the child is eligible to study the Vedas under the aegis of the Guru/ teacher.

Keshant Sanskara

In previous years it was not allowed to cut nails and hairs during the study of Vedas but after the completion of the studies the child was allowed to cut his hairs, beard and nails. 

Samavartan Sanskara

This Sanskara took place after the completion of Brahmcharya i.e at the age of 25. In this Sankara the child enters into the Grahastashram.After completing his education a Yagya was done offering prayers to all deities and takes the blessings of his elders. 

Vivah Sanskara

This Sanskara is the backbone of all the Sanskaras. This is a religious rituals in which the Bride and groom come together to become one family This Sanskara does not aim for physical pleasure but with an aim to give birth to a child. It is believed that this Sanskara gets a person rid of all the sins of 21 genrations 10 of the past and 10 in future and 1 self. 

Antyeshthi Sanskara

In this Sanskara Human physical body after death is devoted to the fire. The main aim of this Sanskara is Kapaal kriya. In this the head of the the dead body is hit hard with the wooden stick to break the head bone.It is also believed that head is the Brahma’s abode so  after kapaal kriya the body is totally freed from this world and worldy affairs. This kriya is done by his son. 

On the whole,  we can observe that these 16 Sanskaras are nothing but the Systematic method  to lead life. Sanskaras enforces the Hindus to lead a disciplined life and follow the path of eternity.

TO know about your vedic Horoscope, Click on this Link: Vedic Horoscope