Ashwin Krishna Paksha Shraddh 2018 - Dates of Shradh in 2018

According to Hinduism Krishna Paksha of Ashwin Month is celebrated in the form of Shraddh. Description of Shraddh Sanskar can be found  in many religious books of Hinduism. Shraddh Paksha is also known as Mahalaya or Sarva Pitru Paksha. Shraddh means to perform ceremonies for the departed souls of dead ancestors so that they can attain peace. It is a ceremony to offer reverence to family, god, ancestors and children. In the year 2018, the Shraddh will begin

Every Shraddh begins from Bhadrapada Shukla Paksha Purnima and remains till Amavasya.  Purnima is the first day on which the Shraddh is performed, and Amavasya is the last one. A person attains death on the basis of hind date and thus, his Shraddh is performed on the same date. People who do not remember the date of death of their ancestors can perform on  Amavasya.

According to the Hinduism, it is believed that the soul of the dead ancestors of a family residing in the Pitra Lok i.e a realm between the heaven and the earth visit earth at the time of Shraddh Paksha or Pitra Paksha. The soul of the ancestors visit their home with a desire of pind-daan or tilanjali and if someone doesn’t perform it, they go back unhappy.

The ceremonies and Tarpan  performed at this time for their peace is known as Shraddh. Thus, it is believed that whatever we donate in the name of our ancestors is  received by them also.

2018 Dates of Sharaddh

Sharaddh Date Time Day
Purnima 25 September Tuesday
Pratipada 25 September Tuesday
Dwitya 26 September Wednesday
Tritya 27 September Thursday
Chaturthi 28 September Friday
Panchami 29 September Saturday
Shashthi 30 September Sunday
Saptami 1 October Monday
Ashtami 2 October Tuesday
Navami 3 October Wensday
Dashmi 4 October Thursday
Ekadashi 5 October Friday
Dwadashi 6 October Saturday
Trayodashi 7 October Sunday
Chaturdashi 8 October Monday
Amavasya 9 October Tuesday

Note:

This time Shashthi Tithi' will decline .

Significance Of Shraddh

Shraddha ceremonies have a special significance in HIndu religion. It is believed, the ancestors fro Pitral Lok visit the earth during Ashwin Krishna Paksha. The soul of the ancestors visit their home with a desire of pind-daan or tilanjali and  received a portion of their meal offered by their present generation, in the name of Shraddh. Thus, it is also believed that whatever we donate in the name of our ancestors is  received by them also.

Shraddh is performed for the peaceful salvation of ancestors. Once can perform these ceremonies as per his potency for the ultimate salvation and peace of his ancestors.