Category list

Tag cloud

Dates of Sharad Navratri in 2016 - Sharad Navratri Festival 2016

Sharda Navratri fast holds a place of great importance. It signified the faith and belief of people in the power of goddess. Goddess Durga has been worshipped since ancient times. It is believed that Lord Ram worshipped Goddess Durga to attain victory against Ravana. There have been many mythological stories depicting the glory of the goddess. It is believed that observing Navratri fast for nine days as per the rituals blesses the person with virtue and happiness.

Navratra is a festival of nine days in which 9 manifestations of goddess Durga are worshipped in the given order: Goddess Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmandal, Skandmata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhatri. Sharadiya Navratri is celebrated in the month of Ashwin and people worship the nine forms of the goddess by observing fasts and performing the rituals during this period. Durga saptashti is recited during the puja ceremony, and lamp is lighted day and night for the entire nine days.

Ghat Establishment

In 2016, Shardiya Navratra will begin on 1 st October , Saturday on the Pratipada tithi of Ashwin Shukla Paksha. Durga Puja begins with the ritual of establishing a Kalash. In 2016, the establishment ritual will begin on 1st October . On this day, Hasta nakshatra and brahm yoga will firmed from the sunrise to the pratipada, while Sun and Moon will be in the Virgo sign.

In the morning of the pratipada tithi of Ashwin shukla paksha, the devotee determines to fast followed by building an altar of soil himself or by the priest and planting barley over it. Then the Kalash is established on the raised platform made of mud along with an idol of the goddess placed on it. Durga saptashti is recited after the establishment ritual while performing the puja. During the puja ceremony, lamp should be lighted day and night for the entire nine days. Some people establish the idol of Lord Ram and recite Ramayana during this period.

Dates of Navratra

Comment(s): 0:

Leave a comment

(Will not be shown)